Friday, 23 September 2016

2018 World Cup: Watford's Isaac Success gets first Nigeria call-up

He has played at youth level for Nigeria, helping
them win the 2013 Under-17 World Cup.

His Watford team-mate Odion Ighalo has been
left out to attend the burial of his father a day
before the match.
John Mikel Obi is also on the 23-man list despite
not playing for Chelsea yet this season.
Obi captained Nigeria at the Olympics in Brazil
and led them to a bronze medal but has not
featured for new Chelsea boss Antonio Conte
since his return.
Coach Gernot Rohr has largely kept faith with
the side that earned a 1-0 win over Tanzania in a
dead-rubber 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier
in early September.
But there are recalls for Arsenal forward Alex
Iwobi, Chelsea loanee Kenneth Omeruo and
Belgium-based midfielder Anderson Esiti, who all
missed Rohr's first game in charge of the Super
Injured Moses Simon is listed after assuring Rohr
that he would be fully fit before the game.
Nigeria are in Group B, with Cameroon and
Algeria - who have both been at the past two
World Cup finals - placed alongside 2012 Africa
Cup of Nations winners Zambia.
There are five groups of four teams with only
the winners of each group making it to the
tournament in Russia.
Nigeria have missed out on the last Nations
Cups but have appeared at the last two World
Cups in South Africa and Brazil, reaching the last
16 in 2014.
Nigeria squad:
Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton
Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu
Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)
Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05,
Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC,
Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC,
Turkey); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi
Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa
Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey);
Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium),
Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)
Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England);
Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred
Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor
(Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel), Anderson Esiti (KAA
Gent, Belgium)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England);
Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England);
Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses
(Chelsea FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford
FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England);
Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece)